Golf at Maritzburg College

Golf at Maritzburg College began in 1991 but only became an official school sport in 1993. Boys participated in the Midlands league for two years to prove their commitment to the sport which saw it gaining the status of an official school sport. The Midlands league was set up in 1991 and has been run by Maritzburg College ever since its inception until 2012. This league is now organised by an Inland committee headed up by Mr B Flanegan of Michaelhouse. Golf has gone from strength to strength since becoming an official sport at the school.

The golf team is generally made up of all single figure handicaps and the boys are able to play golf throughout the year meaning the boys are specialising in the sport. College has produced many KZN representatives and four SA U18 players. A number of our players have also gone on to the U.S.A. on golf scholarships.

Golf at College is now an all year round sport and a bus travels to the golf course or driving range four days a week. This enables all boys to play golf as well as another sport and those who select only golf may play or practise at least twice a week.



S2 van der Berg Daniel

R van der Berg 

Schools League

Boys play nine holes medal stableford on a Friday afternoon in the first term. There are also three 18 holes tournaments; used to select a Midlands team to play against the Coastal team and thereafter a KZN team is selected.

Golf is also played against local, as well as the Durban schools, and recently a number of teams from outside the province have started playing against College during interschool exchanges.

Annual Events

A school Championship is held on an annual basis where all the boys who play are able to take part and a champion for the year is established

Provincial and National Tournaments

The school team also takes part in the KZN Foundation tournament. A champion school is then chosen to represent the province at a national event.

A KZN Schools’ championship is held where a KZN Schools’ team is selected to represent the province in a SA Schools strokeplay tournament. A SA Schools team is then selected.

Provincial Golf Representation

KZN Schools A Team

A Pauls 2009

M Mitchell 2010 & 2012

S Stroebel 2011

R Swanepoel 2012

M Mitchell (C) 2013

KZN Schools B Team

R Quarmby; 2011

N Swanepoel 2011

Z Pelzer 2010

R Van Niekerk 2010

D Mullis 2009

S Stroebel 2009

KZN Foundation

1995 ARG Ross

1996 ARG Ross (C)

1997 D Vella

1999 D Couperthwaite

2000 D Couperthwaite, D Rosewall

2001 GH Dickenson, C Appel


2002 N Schietekat (Captain)

2003 GH Dickenson

2005 CG van der Merwe

2010 M Mitchell

2011 M Mitchell

2012 M Mitchell, R Swanepoel

2013 M Mitchell (Captain)

National Golf Representation

S.A Schools Golf and S.A Foundation Golf

M. Ireland (1985), A.R.G Ross (1996), N. Schietekat (2001), R. Swanepoel (2012)

National Representation Senior (open)

N. Schietekat

Golf Captains

1993 MAG Barnes

!994 SN McLoughlin

1995 CA Salter

1996 ARG Ross

1997 D Vella

1998 DP Ferreira

1999 DA Pitot

2000 D Couperthwaite

2001 J Rose-Innes

2002 GH Dickenson

2003 WP Thornhill

2004 CG van der Merwe

2005 CG van der Merwe

2006 SR Thackeray

2007 C Kruger

2008 AJ Fourie

2009 L Rattray

2010 R Kay – Hards

2011 S Stroëbel

2012 Z Pelzer

2013 M Mitchell

2014 M DeMatteis

2015 C Reed

2016 C Reed

Darryll Trodd


Mr Darryl Trodd

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.