Cross Country at Maritzburg College

The cross country captain for 2014

James Kidd

Cross-country started at College in 1966 as a result of a league that was established. In that year College won all events. Similar results were enjoyed until 1972. From 1980, a group of juniors began to make their presence felt and, as they moved up in the school, the spirit of renaissance spread upwards. In 1984 and 1985 the College senior and junior teams made up the entire Pietermaritzburg and District teams!

Names that stand out were V Cockbain who, with his arm in plaster, managed to set a national senior cross-country record in 1983 and A Baker, who, in 1985 won the SA Schools' Competition in his age group.

Cross-country running is offered at College as a winter sport. A small but dedicated group of boys make use of this option. There are approximately six race meetings in the Midlands league in the second term. Top runners can elect to run in KZN trials if they wish. Several boys choose to do cross-country running as a second sport in order to enhance their fitness for other sports such as rugby, hockey and canoeing.

2IMG 0804IMG 6411James-Speed


2013 was another successful year for the seniors. The sustained efforts of a number of runners saw us able to reclaim the Senior League trophy. In addition, two runners viz. captain James Wewege and exciting newcomer Johan Laubscher, were awarded medals for being in the top 10 finishers overall. 

Maritzburg College again hosted the first race of the season, this time on the school's campus. This proved to be a very pleasant affair and will most likely continue in future years.

The inter house cross country, being the one in our 150th year, had the biggest turn out yet, with close to 1000 boys participating. The whole school got involved with the event, including rare appearances from the media centre and finance staff. This was the last year that the traditional five competed as a new house system was implemented in 2014.


Mrs Lesley Marchant

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.