General Information

Leon - Cross Country mascot


"Leon" is the cross-country mascot. He is named after Leon Haarhoff who was an excellent athlete whilst at College. Leon attended College during the late 1980s and holds the record of 13 min 34,7s for the Junior Cross Country , set in 1988. He also holds two athletics records, the U16 1500m record of 4min 15,6 s and the U17 3000m record of 9min 4,0s. These records have also stood since 1988.

After leaving school Leon joined the police force where he was later tragically killed during an ambush. He lives on in our mascot.






The "Haarhoff Trophy", donated in 2007 by the family of Leon Haarhoff in his memory, is awarded to the most promising junior runner each year. In its inaugural year it was awarded to Ayanda Mthalane.


The Ryan Clive Smith Trophy is awarded to the Highest Placed Runner in the Senior Midlands League. It was donated in 2007.


Ryan Clive-Smith (pictured left) attended College, matriculating in 1991. During his time at the school he proved himself to be an extremely talented athlete in distance events. He holds a number of school athletic records, viz. 1500m U17 (1989: 4min 9,3s), 1500m U19 (1990; 4min 7,2s) and the 3000m U19 (1991; 8min 55,2s). His senior Cross-Country record of 22min 10,6s, set in 1991, has yet to be bettered.


After leaving College, Ryan attended Kansas State University in America on an athletics scholarship. Whilst there he excelled at his running and ended up competing at a very high level. He now lives in San Diego where he practices as a highly successful financial planner. To quote his wife, "He is extraordinarily successful in his field, which I believe is a function in part of the discipline he learned while training and running in high school"


The first recipient of this unique and beautiful trophy was Allen Still, the 2007 Cross-Country captain and winner of the Midlands League


Ryan Clive-Smith (class of 1991), senior record holder (and donator of the trophy), with the top three juniors in the inter-house for 2010

(left to right: B Player, J Wewege and B Tyrer)

Inter-house cross-country


An inter-house cross-country run is held annually at the end of the 2nd term. While this is largely a fun event in which maximum school participation is encouraged, its timing is also to allow the serious runners to test their mettle whilst still fully fit. The course wends it way along the banks of the Duzi River and past the starting point of the famous Duzi Canoe Marathon.

The senior course is approximately 7km long while the juniors run 4 km. A trophy is awarded to the winner of the Senior section

Dusi Canoe Marathon in 2012


Past runners Jason Graham (captain 1996) and Andrew Birkett (2008) have again done us proud by once again winning the 2012 Dusi Canoe Marathon. Yet again, their strength is the portages served them well . Andy has also gone on to win the Non-stop Dusi as well as winning the singles Dusi title in 2011. What a legend! Furthermore, current schoolboys Murray Haw (2012) and James Speed (captain 2012) overwhelmingly won the U18 section of the Dusi and were an incredible 11th overall. What an excellent advertisement these guys are for the value of inter sport disciplines.

Picture left: Andrew Birkett (front) and Jason Graham during their epic victory in the 2010 Dusi Marathon

Inaugural Trail Run at Isandhlwana
cross-country Two College boys participated in the first ever trail run between Isandhlwana and Fugitive's Drift. Maritzburg College wanted to be present as a tribute to our fallen Old Boys, and it was thus quite fitting that the opening address, by well-known historian and raconteur Rob Caskie, was held at the base of the Maritzburg College Memorial. The scenic but demanding course followed a route similar to that taken by soldiers during the famous battle. Much of the terrain was rugged, rocky and steep but our boys were up to the challenge. James Speed and Jonty Frederick took off as though the entire Zulu Impi were on their heels. James Speed put in a very impressive performance to come home in second place, close on the heels of veteran SA trail running champion, Trevor Torien, who was full of praise for the youngster's gutsy effort. Jonty Frederick was third. The whole event was extremely enjoyable and the boys did the school proud. A big thank you must go to Mr Jeff Speed who transported us all there and also took part in the run. Without his assistance we would not have been able to take part.



Maybe there is a little known genetic link between red hair and running ability! Certainly this trio were on fire and featured prominently in the successes of the 2009 cross country season. They are (l - r) James Wewege, Donovan Wewege & Richard Kaufmann.


 WEWEGE-AND-PLAYER James Wewege is the Cross Country captain for 2013.  He is pictured here with Blake Player and is holding the brand new Cross Country mascot, Leon.