The Maritzburg College class of 2010 has produced no less than 6 medical doctors!

Dr Vishen Naidoo popped in for a quick visit this week when he fetched his younger brother (form 2) from school. Vishen, Blake Lawrence and Yashvir Rugbeer (group photo) graduated together from Wits University.

vishen  graduation

Wasim Mahomed, Nsizi Ndlovu and Lungelo (Bob) Chonco have also graduated and all 6 are currently serving their internships - Vishen and Yashvir at Grey's and Lungelo at King Edward Hospital.

This is old JOSEPH HLELA, the longest serving College staff member of all time - he started at College in 1950 (under John-Willie Hudson) and ended his career in 1999. His son-in-law, the much-loved Enoch, tells me that he turned 100 YEARS YOUNG on 12 February. He was proud to tell me that "Joseph is as old as Skonk!"

Here are some photos of Joseph: with some colleagues in 1990, in 1993, with Mr Elliott and a more youthful Mr Guise-Brown at the time of his retirement in 1999, with his dear friend Skonk, and more recently in 2014, when he and his late wife were visited by OCs Matthew Marwick and Dennis Brand.

1990-Hlela-Joseph-and-other-staff-c1990  Elliott-Joseph-KGB-1999  Skonk and Joseph  Joseph edited   

Bravo, Joseph - we wish you happiness in the twilight of your days.

Mr Marwick will arrange for some boys to visit Joseph at his home on the way to Elandskop in early May, to pay our respects, congratulate him on reaching his great milestone, and present him with a small gift. If you would like to contribute towards the gift, please email:  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Attendance by Maritzburg College rugby and hockey teams at various festivals, Easter 2017:

Rugby: 2nds / 3rds (Messrs N Sutherland & G Dorling): Hoërskool Vryheid Festival

Captained experimentally by three players (C Camp, Y Tetyana and J Koppeschaar), the team at the end of the festival won the award for “The Most Eminent Team”
Y Tetyana was named “Best Back Player of the Festival”.


  • vs Hoërskool Kroonstad 1sts L 18-24
  • vs Affies 2nds L 13-23
  • vs Hoërskool Vryheid 1sts W 39-0

Hockey: U16A (Messrs R Jones & R Moolman): Nomads Festival at Jeppe High School for Boys


  • vs King Edward VII School (KES) W 5-0
  • vs Jeppe High School for Boys D 2-2
  • vs St John’s College (Johannesburg) W 2-0
  • vs Whitgift School (UK) L 0-3
  • vs Wynberg Boys’ High School W 1-0

Rugby: U16A (Messrs R Lombard, R le Roux & R Moolman): Jeppe High School for Boys Festival


  • vs Hoërskool Randburg D 28-28
  • vs Jeppe High School for Boys L 7-15
  • vs Hoërskool Zwartkop (Centurion) L 20-26

Rugby: U15B/C (Messrs R Chirengende & B Mdutyana): Northwood Festival


  • vs Ixopo High School U15A W 39-11
  • vs Sutherland High School (Centurion) U15A W 19-14
  • vs Kloof High School U15A W 17-10

Rugby: U14A (Messrs S Botha & L Botha): Hoërskool Fichardt Park Festival (Bloemfontein)


  • vs Hoërskool Goudveld (Welkom) W 65-0
  • vs HTS Louis Botha (Bloemfontein) W 76-5
  • vs Welkom Gimnasium W 22-8

Rugby: 1st XV (Messrs R Kyle, T Orchard, C Fraser):  St Stithian's Easter Festival


  • vs St Benedicts W36 - 6
  • vs Grey Hish School L 19 - 27
  • vs St Stithian's W 36 - 29

Hockey:  14A (Messrs G Jelley and S Ngema):  Nomads Festival, Grey College


  • vs Jeppe L 1 - 3
  • vs KES D 0 - 0
  • vs St John's W 3 - 1
  • vs Wynberg D 1 - 1
  • vs St Alban's W 2 - 1

1st XI Hockey tour to Europe:  Germany and Holland


  • vs Uhlenhorster W 2- 1
  • vs Bloemendaal W 3 - 0
  • vs Roomburg W 2 - 1
  • vs Como Secondary W 6 - 0
  • vs Bishops W 1 - 0
  • vs Roomburg W 4 - 1
  • vs Hilton College L 3 - 5 (penalty shoot out)
  • vs Wesley College W 4 - 0



ZumaLwandiswa Zuma has been signed to the Hollywoodbets Dolphins.  The 20 year-old right-arm fast bowler, returns to the province of his birth for the 2017/2018 season.

"Zuma, who represented the VKB Knights for two of the recent Momentum One Day Cup campaign fixtures, has represented South Africa at Under 19 level and will bolster the seam bowler stocks with the likes of Rob Frylinck, Mthokozisi Shezi and Rabian Engelbrecht being worked hard throughout the past season." - Dolphins Cricket

Well done to Martin Binedell who is the newly-appointed captain of the KZN men's swimming team for the upcoming nationals.